Becoming Ruthless in your Endeavors

I can’t talk about my job in detail.

But what I can tell you is how I prepare for it. Every morning.

The successful have rituals: a list of items to complete that provides more than just a feeling of accomplishment. I adopted and modified this approach based on the studies of Tim Ferris.

I wake up before anybody else does. Two hours pass before I clock in. Once the alarm goes off, I check my email, look at the news, check my facebook notifications, and then roll out of bed. Reading always helps me rub out the fogginess in the corner of my eyes.

After showering, I get dressed and begin to cook an egg and a slice of bacon.  My work shirt is already on the iron board with the iron heating up. I sit down to eat while listening to some smooth jazz or watching a biker documentary on our smart tv. We’re about 35-45 minutes into my morning so far. The ironing begins immediately afterwards.

5 minutes or so go into reading some Scripture. I read John Maxwell’s Leadership bible and enjoy his excerpts and breakdowns of the characters involved. He makes sure to break down their leadership qualities as well as their formulas for failure. This is my coaching time.

Afterwards, I spend 5 minutes reflecting. I let God guide my thoughts on each topic and ask that I have clarity on the direction I should take with my day. Running through each role I play, I start to think about where I’ve met success and where I’ve come up short. Father, husband, employee, coworker, friend…..what can be done differently? Candidly, I critique myself and think about my growth in each area. How can I serve more? How can I simplify my routine? How can I improve the quality of time within each category? How is my attitude displayed during the trials that each facet will offer?

My daily prayers are basic, but meaningful. At the very least, “Lord, please bless my day indeed. Keep your hand upon us. Keep us from evil and from causing pain. May your will be done, today. …I put it all in Your hands. Amen.”

That’s it. That’s the jist of what I need… I ask for blessings. More than I can fathom. When I say “bless my day indeed”, what I’m really asking for is for Him to bless me so abundantly that I can hardly believe it’s real. I want so much to the point that I’m overwhelmed. I ask for protection. Not just from natural occurences, but from evil itself. And from being the person at fault in any situation that’s regrettable. And finally, “May your will be done, today. …I put it all in Your hands. Amen.” I’m literally saying “Just do whatever You want! I don’t know if I’m ready for it, but let’s do it. Head-on. It’s all in Your hands. If I missed anything in my prayers, you know what I need and want. You know how to take care of my life. I trust that.

“Amen.” Basically, if my will is God’s will, then both will be done. There’s the hope of an alignment there. There’s the risk that I’m not asking for what He wants to give me. But I’m confident that if it is, then it’ll happen. Period.

60- 70 minutes into my day, I kiss my wife goodbye, head out the door, and ride to work on my Harley. I talk with a few supervisors, grab a cup of coffee in the breakroom, then walk through the door to the office. That’s where the remaining 50 minutes go. No matter what happens today, I’ve had my personal time. I’ve taken back that half of the day by starting it with my own schedule and choices.

I’m more relaxed. I have a plan for what I can foresee. I’m well-dressed, fed, and spiritually ready to tackle whatever comes at me. And throughout the entire morning, I’m repeating a variation of this one phrase…“I’m going to be RUTHLESS in achieving my goals.” 

“Nothing will bring me down today.”

“Anything so-and-so says is NOT a big deal.”

“My finances are not the beginning, nor end of me. I will become successful.”

“Be ruthless in your endeavors.”

Instead of putting myself down with negative thoughts or doubt, I’m amping myself up with positive motivation. I’m already anticipating the suck, but I won’t be a contributing part of it. I borrowed this approach and statement from Anthony Robbins. He’s a little more vulgar, using “taboo words” to break through comfort zones and transcend norms and mental restraints. I do the same, just not on this post *wink*. I’ll let you fill in the blanks.

I’m more relaxed. I have a plan for what I can foresee. I’m well-dressed, fed, and mentally ready to tackle whatever comes at me.

It’s simplistic and effective. It’s routine, but interesting. It’s flexible for changes, but unchanging in effect. Since I’ve started this, my morning is no longer in chaos. It’s not rushed, it’s not “on-time”, and it’s not “something to do”. Every minute has a purpose. There’s a handful of minor investments in life the second I open my eyes. And it’s a small part of what makes the day go from “good” to “great”.

What are your rituals? How can you improve your day and start a solid, empowering routine that will help you overcome obstacles and put yourself in an ideal position to embrace the productivity of your day? Make a routine and stick to it.

And whatever you do, do it now.

 

 

Leave a comment